The Sovereignty of God

by

Contributed by Krista Rhodenhizer, wife of Chris Rhodenhizer, Lead Pastor of Image Church

I wouldn’t really classify myself as a worrier. Control freak, yes. Procrastinator, yes. But really not a worrier…. (hence, the procrastination).  I have always attributed this to the fact that I had a good, reliable upbringing. My parents were always there for me. They consistently showed me faithfulness, love and respect. They taught me that I could depend on my Heavenly Father.  I guess I always knew that when it came down to the wire, I wasn’t alone.  So, psych major that I am, I think that this has a lot to do the fact that I don’t experience that worrisome fear very often. Yet, I am learning throughout my life experiences that while my God is loving, forgiving and completely and utterly faithful, He is SOVEREIGN.  (Gulp).  Things don’t always turn out well.  In the end, in the light of eternity, yes. Yet in this life on earth, we are guaranteed hardship.

Job 1:21 – And he said, “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return. The LORD gave, and the LORD has taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD.”

I have had deep loss in my life. Unexpected and unexplained loss.  Yet, I can honestly tell you that it has not caused me to be consumed by fear. I need to be completely clear here. I am in NO way saying that I have done something right or special that has rescued me from this thing of fear or worry. If anything at all, it’s that I have SEEN and EXPERIENCED that in the middle of the bottom falling out, I have seen Him. He is still there, and He is still in control.  It is the most bizarre peace. Truly, peace that passes all understanding.  I think that sometimes, when your fear is realized, there is some kind of comfort knowing that it still isn’t too much for Him. HE gives to us. All that we have, He has given.

I have been studying Hosea in my quiet time with God, and this verse has been whispered to my heart on a regular basis ever since I read it weeks ago.

Hosea 2:8 – And she did not know that it was I who gave her the grain, the wine, and the oil, and who lavished on her silver and gold, which they used for Baal.

She (Israel) was given every gift and every good thing by her Husband (God), and yet even after her wandering and disobedience and loss…AFTER she returned to His goodness, She still did not see that it was HE who gave her everything she had. The Lord truly gives, and it is His to take away. I am incredibly thankful that His sovereignty gives me rest in Him.

