The Mint

by

Contributed by Beth Seidler, wife of Chad Seidler, Director of Ministry at Image Church.

Multi-tasking is part of my DNA.  I can’t sit still very well for very long.  It drives my husband crazy.  Even when we are just watching TV or trying to relax, I have a basket of laundry in front of me.  I kind of have to be that way – I’m OCD – I work full-time, and we have two small kids.  This year for my birthday and Mother’s Day, I got a really cool present to help me with my multi-tasking (and my dislike for mopping).  It’s called “The Mint” – a genius little machine that mops my floor for me while I’m doing something else.  It even keeps track of where it’s been AND can navigate around things like furniture and rugs, etc.  All it needs to be able to operate is to “see” the signal that bounces off the ceiling from this little box (a form of GPS) you put somewhere in the room.  Just soak the cloth in cleaning solution, put it on “The Mint,” turn on the little box, and viola – come back in 30 minutes to a clean floor.

As I was turning on the little box for my magical self-cleaning machine the other night, I thought about how our lives should work like this little device I so love.  Just like my “Mint” can see the signal put off by the little box, others should be able to “see” that we get our direction from God’s Word – Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. (Psalm 119:105) – even when we are doing other things.

Our quiet time and Scripture memorization should be able to help us avoid the obstacles that generally hinder our work…just like how the “Mint” comes up against a roadblock, it backs up and goes another way, and then it remembers where the obstacles are so that it doesn’t travel that direction again.  Psalm 199:11-16 expounds on this…

11I have stored up your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you. 12Blessed are you, O LORD; teach me your statutes! 13With my lips I declare all the rules of your mouth. 14In the way of your testimonies I delight as much as in all riches. 15I will meditate on your precepts and fix my eyes on your ways. 16I will delight in your statutes; I will not forget your word.

And when the day is done, wouldn’t it be great to look around us and know that everything we touched with God’s help was left a little better than it was before we were there?

Matthew 25:23 – 23His master said to him, “Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.”

