Excuses

by

Contributed by Shannon White, wife of our Next Gen Pastor, Tim White.

My kids do not like cleaning up their messes.  They can always come up with some excuse for not doing it.  “I didn’t play with that.”  “But she got it out!”  “I’m too tired to clean up.”  The list goes on.

In the ladies Bible study, we talked about Moses.  Moses is famous for making excuses.  In Exodus 3 and 4 , God appears to Moses in the form of a burning bush.  He tells Moses that He has seen His people in Egypt and is going to deliver them.  Exodus 3:10 says,  “ Now go, for I am sending you to Pharoah.  You will lead my people, the Israelites, out of  Egypt.”  Moses then starts in with the excuses.   “Who am I?” “ They won’t believe me.” “ I’m not a good speaker.”  Then in chapter 4:13 it says, “But Moses again pleaded, “Lord, please!  Send someone else.”

Moses came up with excuse after excuse of why he thought he couldn’t  do it.  Moses was right.  He couldn’t do it on his own.  This wasn’t about him though…this was what God was going to do.  God just chose to use Moses to be part of it.

As I think about Moses, I realize how much I am like him.  There are times when I know God wants me to do something, and I fight it like crazy.  I can come up with so many excuses to  rationalize why I shouldn’t do it.  “Someone else can do so much better.”  “I don’t have the time.  I have four kids to take care of.”    Matthew 22:37-38 says, “Jesus replied, ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.  This is the first and greatest commandment.’”  God wants me to love Him with all that I have.  If I am loving Him that way, I will be willing to do whatever He asks of me.  When God wants to use me to do something, I just need to trust Him and obey.  He will accomplish it through little old me.  It would be sad to miss out on what God is doing and the opportunity to grow closer to Him because of too many excuses.

