Sharing My Faith

by

Contributed by John Hellmund, Elder Overseer of Finance at Image Church

Recently I have been convicted about sharing my faith more. I have always known the importance of this, but as I continue to read God’s Word and pray, I have been reminded of the urgency of this.  Mathew 24: 36 – “But of that day and hour no one knows, not even the angels of heaven, but My father only.” We do not know when Christ is going to return, so we have to look and pray for the opportunity to share our faith. We cannot live like the rest of the world.  Romans 12: 1-2 – “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.

This conviction led to some self-reflection. I started thinking about why I do not take every opportunity to witness, or invite people to church or our P.o.D.  What I came up with is embarrassing.  I was afraid that if my unbelieving friends actually came to our P.o.D., they wouldn’t understand since we are trying to dig deeper into God’s Word.  I was relying on our teaching ability instead of the Holy Spirit.  1 Corinthians 14 24-25 – “But if all prophesy, and an unbeliever or an uninformed person comes in, he is convinced by all, he is convicted by all. And thus the secrets of his heart are revealed; and so, falling down on his face, he will worship God and report that God is truly among you.” We have to remember that it is not us, but God working through us.  Isaiah 55:11 – “So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth; It shall not return to Me void, But it shall accomplish what I please, And it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it.”

We as Christians need to continue to study God’s Word and pray. We should be faithful to tell others the Good News of Christ and to invite them places where they will continue to hear the Gospel. We have to do as 1 Peter 3: 15-16 says – “Instead, you must worship Christ as Lord of your life. And if you are asked about your Christian hope, always be ready to explain it. But you must do this in a gentle and respectful way. Keep your conscience clear. Then if people speak evil against you, they will be ashamed when they see what a good life you live because you belong to Christ.”

