Rest in Him

by

Contributed by Chad Seidler, Director of Ministry/Assistant to the Lead Pastor of Image Church

I like roller coasters.  I do not, however, like emotional roller coasters, and I’ve been riding one for a solid week.  So, I’m officially taking myself off of this current coaster.

I have come face-to-face with some suppressed memories this week.  Memories that bring feelings of inadequacy, uselessness and guilt.  Memories that were crafted from my selfish and arrogant actions.  Memories from which I thankfully have been forgiven, but sometimes find a way of creeping back into my current thoughts.

I thank God daily that I have an incredibly loving wife, solid friends, and a great church family that encourages me and strengthens my walk.  I rely on my faith in God and my relationships with these people a great deal.

I’m also thankful for truth exclaimed throughout God’s Word and the real-life experiences of other Godly people.  I’m currently reading “When Life Is Hard” by James MacDonald.  I had the privilege of hearing MacDonald speak earlier this year at the Whiteboard Sessions in Virginia Beach.  He’s the pastor of Harvest Bible Chapel in Chicago.  He and his family have experienced numerous trials and gone through a lot of pain the past few years.  This book is an account of those experiences and what he learned through them.  The central verse that MacDonald uses throughout the book is from the life of Job.

Job 23:10 – But he knows the way that I take; when he has tried me, I shall come out as gold.

God is in control.  He’s not surprised by what I’m going through.  My feelings of inadequacy, uselessness and guilt are part of the process that is refining me into gold.  This week has reminded me to get out of the way…and rest.

Tonight, coming home from a wonderful dinner with my beautiful bride, I was, again, reminded to rest.  We were listening to “Church Music” from the David Crowder Band.  (If you haven’t yet downloaded this album, do it…the songs are rich with truth and encouragement.)  The song “Shadows” came on.  I needed the reminder…

When shadows fall on us
We will not fear
We will remember

When darkness falls on us
We will not fear
We will remember

When all seems lost
When we’re thrown and we’re tossed
We remember the cost
We rest in Him
Shadow of the cross

I can’t get the song out of my head, and that’s OK.  I need the constant reminder and encouragement.  And tonight as I finish these thoughts, I am resting – resting in Christ and the shadow of His cross.

I rest also in the truths of two Scriptures that I claimed many years ago and strive to claim each day.  I share them with you, that you might be able to find rest.

2 Timothy 1:7 –  For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.

1 Thessalonians 5:24 – He who calls you is faithful; he will surely do it.

Don’t fear.  Remember that God is faithful.  God is refining us right now.  Rest in Him.

