Treasures – The Eye is the Lamp

by

Contributed by Mike Scott, Elder Overseer of Web/Graphic Arts/Media at Image Church

Recently our church body did a study in our POD home groups on the “Treasure Principle” and a series called “Mucho Dinero.”  The book gave some good insight on finances, and it revealed as a whole our church’s approach to giving is very good. It helped convict some who might have been robbing God, and it helped some get their finances in order.  The other day, my devotional was on the same topic, and there were three things that stuck out in the passages I read.

We Are Not To Lay Up Treasures On Earth

Matthew 6:19-24 [ESV] – “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, 20 but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

Recently God has blessed me to be able to work a lot of extra hours, and I was able to pay off debt that would have taken me almost two more years to pay. During this time, sacrifices had to be made on my wife, kids, and my part. I essentially have not been around. This was short term to pay off debt, but in the process I realized this is how some people live day to day. Chasing Money and Things. Working as much as they can to finance a lifestyle or to buy things. I understand wanting nice things, but this should never be what drives us, because moth and rust destroy them in the long run.

The Eye Is The Lamp

22 “The eye is the lamp of the body. So, if your eye is healthy, your whole body will be full of light, 23 but if your eye is bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light in you is darkness, how great is the darkness!

These verses speak for themselves. The comparison of the eye being the lamp is huge. It shows that our heart and eye are parallel with each other. If our eye is healthy so will our heart, and if our heart’s desires are pure then our eye will be looking in the right direction. For some of us this may mean changing what we focus on or some habits that have been set for years. If our eyes are focused on God and doing His will, everything else should fall in line.

We Can’t Serve God And Money

24 “No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money.

I know someone who bought a boat they couldn’t afford, and so they had to work all the time to pay for it. This meant that the same boat they bought to spend time with their family on, caused them to have to be at work and not with them…not to mention working weekends and never going to church. Who were they serving there? We all have a similar story like that about someone and may say how ridiculous that was for them to do that. Remember the eye saw something it wanted and the heart followed. It can happen to any of us. I will never be rich in my life unless a miracle happens. God could decide to change that for me, but most likely you won’t see me pimpin’ a Jaguar any time soon. I realize that time starts to fly by the older you get, and we try to prepare the best we can for our families security. However in the grand scope of it all, what really matters to me is that when I stand before God, I want Him to say that I served Him faithfully in all areas of my life. That I didn’t let greed and covetousness get in the way, and that I was faithful.

Remember that God’s ministry will go on without us, and that it is truly a joy and privilege to be a part of it.

2 Responses to “Treasures – The Eye is the Lamp”

  1. Penny Ott Says:

    Thanks for this reminder. God Bless, we miss you guys!

  2. Bryan Says:

    Good word! Love the part about the eye being a lamp. Really convicting. Thanks for posting.

Comments are closed.


