Why Do Hard Things?

by

Contributed by John Hellmund, Elder Overseer of Finance at Image Church

Why do hard things?  This isn’t a question I would normally think of.  I am the type of person that tries to work smarter and not harder.  As far back as I can remember, I have been this way.  I will watch the way somebody does something and try to improve on it.  This can be taken too far when you do not try your best.  Sometimes what some would say is working smarter is actually taking short cuts.  I know I have done this myself at different points in my life. 

What got me thinking about this question is a book I have been reading.  It is called Do Hard Things by Alex and Brett Harris.  This is a book written by teen brothers for teens.  Why then am I reading it?  The teens at Image are going to be going to a conference by the Harris brothers.  I worked security for the conference last year and was given the book by the Harris’s father; so I thought I would check it out and see what our youth will be learning. 

The brothers have come up with a new word, “rebelution,” which is a combination of two words, rebellion and revolution.  This is a new word for their new concept.  They want teens to begin rebelling against rebellion.  The brothers define rebelution as “a teenage rebellion against low expectations.”  I haven’t finished the book, but from what I have read the brothers really have a great point.  Today, most teens are given too much of a break.  Some parents are OK with their teens being mediocre as long as they aren’t doing anything too bad.  Most teens are not given the responsibility or encouragement they need to thrive.  Of course, there are exceptions where teens have to take full responsibility of their siblings or other hard life issues that are no fault of their own.  The Bible doesn’t talk about teen years, as we think of them, as a time to take life easy and relax.

In 1 Corinthians 13:11, Paul writes, When I was a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things.  There is no middle ground or teen years where we do not get after it and serve God.  It was not that long ago when young adults in their teens were heading off to work, and even getting married.  Why is it that today many parents don’t want their teens to grow up too fast?  Are we as parents holding our kids back from serving God at an early age? 

Paul wrote to Timothy in 1 Timothy 4:12-13 – Let no one despise your youth, but be an example to the believers in word, in conduct, in love, in spirit, in faith, in purity, 13. Till I come, give attention to reading, to exhortation, to doctrine.  There are many interesting things to look at in this passage.  One funny thing about this advice is that scholars believe that Timothy was in his thirties at this time, which was still considered young in his Greek culture.  Just think that people at that time were looked down on as inexperienced and young in their thirties.  This would have made things even harder on Jesus.  The Pharisees would have looked down on Jesus even more because of his age.  Jesus’ ministry here on earth was while he was in his early thirties.  Another great point that Paul made was for Timothy to stay in the Word.  He was told to give attention to reading and to doctrine.  How many of us are not in the Word daily and praying like we should? 

As stated before, I have not finished the book by the Harris brothers, but from what I have read they have shared a lot of great wisdom.  I have to wonder if we should take it one step further and include all our children in this.  As parents, we have to take advantage of our time with our kids and teach them the truth about Jesus and what He has done for us.  We have to live our own faith and use every opportunity to encourage our kids to not only learn God’s Word but to also live it.  Proverbs 22:6 says, Train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not depart from it. 

All this leads me back to my original question.  Why do hard things?  The only answer I can come up with is that we are called to do hard things.  In Mathew 28:18-20, Jesus came and spoke to them saying, All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. 19.  Go therefore and make disciples o all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you.  It is not easy to follow Jesus in a fallen world and to be bold witnesses, but it is the most important thing any of us can choose to do.

2 Responses to “Why Do Hard Things?”

  1. russ Says:

    amen – lets all go do hard things.

  2. Papa Dayee Says:

    sometimes the harder something is for me, the longer it takes me to get around doing it. I know God knows me, and I pray that he continues to be patient with me.

Comments are closed.


