Why We Do It

by

Contributed by Toby Ward, Elder Overseer of Service at Image Church

“If you live long enough, life will trash your trophies.” – Dr. James C. Dobson

There was a time in my life where I lived for everything and anything sports-related. I was in the Air Force and was consumed by playing on  high-level base softball and basketball teams. I played golf at Andrews Air Force Base 3-5 times a week. Between the three sports combined with work, that is ALL I did. When I was not working, I was playing a sport.  When I was working, I was thinking about sports.  Sports, sports, sports. I loved them and could not get enough of them. I loved the thrill of competition, the thrill of a cracked line drive in the gap, the thrill of a 3 pointer made, and especially the thrill of a drive well hit. NOTHING in my life gave me more satisfaction at that time.

In 1998, I was on an elite softball team that won many tournaments and received lots of accolades. It was the pinnacle of my softball “career” and ended with a massive tourney win with a huge trophy for me and the rest of my teammates. I cherished that trophy for years and held it as a source of pride. I would display it in my dorm room, and speak of it often when friends were over.  For me, that was the ultimate in life, and I had achieved it.  Sadly however, this is ALL I lived for at the time, even though I was a child of God. I had drifted SO far away and disillusioned myself so much that I did not even realize how far I was from God. God brought me back to HIM in a very humbling way, but that’s for a different blog.

Today, I have no idea where that trophy or any other trophies of mine are. I think some are in a box, and the rest are broken and in a landfill. What once brought me SO much happiness is now trashed, old, and long since forgotten. You see, that’s the problem with working to attain an earthly reward. While they make you feel good for a while ,eventually that fades, and you are off to the next thing that makes you feel good. That’s what we do as humans. We chase things that make us feel good. Why do we do that, especially as Christians? As Christians, we have access to Jesus which can bring us UNSURPASSED eternal joy.

John 4: 7-15  – 7 A woman from Samaria came to draw water. Jesus said to her, “Give me a drink.” 8 (For his disciples had gone away into the city to buy food.) 9 The Samaritan woman said to him, “How is it that you, a Jew, ask for a drink from me, a woman of Samaria?” (For Jews have no dealings with Samaritans.) 10 Jesus answered her, “If you knew the gift of God, and who it is that is saying to you, ‘Give me a drink,’ you would have asked him, and he would have given you living water.” 11 The woman said to him, “Sir, you have nothing to draw water with, and the well is deep. Where do you get that living water? 12 Are you greater than our father Jacob? He gave us the well and drank from it himself, as did his sons and his livestock.” 13 Jesus said to her, “Everyone who drinks of this water will be thirsty again, 14 but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. [2] The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” 15 The woman said to him, “Sir, give me this water, so that I will not be thirsty or have to come here to draw water.”

Jesus Himself used the analogy of water to show that things of this earth will only satisfy for a short time, but HE will provide you a “spring of water welling up to eternal life.”  Call me crazy, but a Jesus-fed spring inside me sounds MUCH better than temporary pleasure or gain here on earth!!! Jesus has promised to give us that joy if we seek Him. It’s really that simple. Jesus above all others.

I was reminded of this last month when I walked into the men’s bathroom and saw the wiffle ball trophy the men won against the ladies at Dive-In last year. That was a great day, as the men DOMINATED on the field and brought home the beautiful Wiffle Ball Cup. 🙂  We were all the rage for the day and the next day during announcements at Image. The trophy was displayed, and stories were told from the game. However, that soon faded, and now that trophy sits in the men’s room with the rest of the waste.  How appropriate, and even symbolic.

As Jesus said if you drink only earthly water, it will pass away. Folks, we need to stay TAPPED into the eternal water and seek Jesus in all we do. Do not work for an earthly reward or praise, but seek first the kingdom of God. (Matthew 6:33)

Why should we live an unfulfilled life when we can have the ultimate fulfillment through Christ?  What drives you and gives you joy?

2 Responses to “Why We Do It”

  1. Russ Says:

    So thats what that thing is

  2. Papa Dayee Says:

    I always like reading your stuff, hope we can get out a few more times before the Open.

Comments are closed.


