The Importance & Power of Prayer

by

Contributed by John Hellmund, Elder Overseer of Finance at Image Church

First off, I have to say that I never thought I would be a part of a group who blogged.  Not that blogging is a bad thing; I have just never taken the time to read others’ blogs, let alone consider writing my own.  So when I started thinking about what I would write, the first thing that came to mind is finances.   This made complete sense to me, since I am the Treasurer of Image Church.  I also thought it would be a nice way to keep the past series, Mucho Dinero, in our minds.  As I started putting things together in my head and praying over this idea, something else kept popping-up – the importance and power of prayer.

Everywhere I turned, I would hear somebody say something about prayer.  I was at my part-time job, which is doing security for a Christian events center, when I was assigned to be down by Will Call.  At this particular event, a Mercy Me concert, the tickets had been sold out for weeks.  The day of the concert, 40 additional seats became available.  As I sat at Will Call and people would come up and ask if any tickets where left, I think everyone that asked said that they had been praying for a ticket all day.  I know that we can and should go to God concerning the big things, as well as the little things.  Unfortunately, I don’t always take the time to do this.  A day or so later, I was talking with my boys, and my two year old asked me why we were praying before we ate.  This gave me an opportunity to talk to them about the importance of prayer.  The next day, once again, I had a chance to talk to them about prayer, because they were playing around when we were saying our nightly prayers.  I spoke to them about who we were praying to and how we had to show respect.  Then just yesterday, while running some errands, we saw a bad car accident.  I just kind of threw out there that I hope nobody got hurt.  It hit me that it could be another good time to talk to them about prayer.  So while I was driving, I asked Jesus to take care of the people in the accident and their families.  My two year old, once again, asked me why I was praying.  I went on to share with him that we are to pray without ceasing and that God hears us and will always answer us.  In 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18, Paul writes, “Rejoice always, Pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” Now, this doesn’t mean we are supposed to ramble the same thing over and over and never stop praying, but we are to constantly seek God’s guidance for our lives.  In the book of Matthew, it is recorded that Jesus taught his disciples to pray.  He said in chapter 6:7-13, “And when you pray, do not use vain repetitions as the heathen do.  For they think that they will be heard for their many words.  Therefore do not be like them.  For your Father knows the things you have need of before you ask Him.  In this manner, therefore pray:  Our Father in heaven, Hallowed be Your name.  Your kingdom come.  Your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.  Give us this day our daily bread.  And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors.  And do not lease us into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one.  For yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever.  Amen”

This prayer is just a model and not something that we need to recite.  It is a simple prayer that can be broken down into many parts and used as an example.  We need to honor and adore God in our prayers.  We can pray for our needs.  We need to ask for forgiveness of our sins and make sure we aren’t holding anything against others. It is wise to seek protection from evil, and then once again give glory to God before sealing the prayer by saying “Amen.”   

One thing that can really encourage you and strengthen your prayer life is seeing God answer your prayers.  My wife Christi and I have seen this done over and over again recently.  I had been working fulltime and going to school fulltime for over two years.  I was feeling really worn out.  We prayed for me to have the strength and drive to continue, and in December, I finally did.  Since I was going to be finishing school, I also prayed about changing jobs so that I would have a job in my field of study (finance), and God answered that prayer for us, too.  I had an interview and job offer even before I had finished my last class.  Now, a request that was most dear to me was for another child.  God, once again, has answered this prayer, as Christi is expecting and due in July.  We pray for the health of both Christi and the baby and continue trust God.

The power to communicate with God through prayer has been given to us.  The Gospels state that Jesus got away to pray and be rejuvenated.  Luke 5:16 states, “So He Himself often withdrew into the wilderness and prayed.” In  Luke 6:12, Jesus once again went to pray.  “Now it came to pass in those days that He went out to the mountain to pray, and continued all night in prayer to God.” If Jesus, who is God, spent His time in prayer, then isn’t it more important that the rest of us, who are sinners, need to spend our time in His word and in prayer?

Imagine if we lived our lives on our knees in prayer, lifting up the work of God, our church, family and friends.  Another Great Awakening could happen, and many more could come to know Christ as their personal Lord and Savior.

One Response to “The Importance & Power of Prayer”

  1. Papa Dayee Says:

    Hey John, that is terrific! I know that you all are blessed and we will be praying for you all. Great message, it even gets better when we start believing our prayers to be answered while we are praying. AMEN

Comments are closed.


